• Fisher Center for the Performing Arts (map)
  • 30 Campus Road
  • Red Hook, NY, 12571
  • United States

The Orchestra Now performs an overture and two symphonies by Mendelssohn, Stravinsky, & Dvořák. Conducted by James Bagwell; “A distinguished conductor” –The New York Times

Mendelssohn: Ruy Blas Overture
Tempestuous and charming; Mendelssohn was given six days to write the piece—he did it in two!

Stravinsky: Symphony in C
Lively and driven; written during a dark period of his life, Stravinsky abandoned deeper meaning in favor of “pure music”

Dvořák: Symphony No. 8
Animated and optimistic; takes inspiration from Bohemian folk music; one of Dvořák’s most joyful works